That Near Death Thing

That Near Death Thing

The Isle of Man TT - the world's most dangerous race - as seen through the eyes of Cummins, Martin, McGuinness and Dunlop. THAT NEAR DEATH THING is a life-affirming journey to the heart of the world's most dangerous race. The Isle of Man TT is a throwback to a maverick era that existed before PR platitudes and PC attitudes. WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR-shortlisted author Rick Broadbent gets inside the helmets of four leading motorcycle racers as they battle fear, fire and family tragedy for a gritty sort of glory. Guy Martin is a tea-drinking truck mechanic and TV eccentric who 'sucks the rabbits out of hedges', but must now deal with the flipside of fame; Conor Cummins is the local hero facing a race against time as he battles depression and a broken body after falling down the mountain; John McGuinness is the living legend fending off the ravages of middle-age for one last hurrah; Michael Dunlop is the wild child living with one of the most remarkable legacies in sport. They tell their astonishing stories in a book that provides the most rounded, intimate, behind-the-scenes account yet of the last great race. Rick Broadbent has delivered the final word on the Isle of Man TT, one that really gets to grips with an event that continually pulls unsung riders and fans back year after year to witness That Near Death Thing.


Author
Publisher Hachette UK
Release Date
ISBN 1409143414
Pages 288 pages
That Near Death Thing
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Rick Broadbent
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-17 - Publisher: Hachette UK

The Isle of Man TT - the world's most dangerous race - as seen through the eyes of Cummins, Martin, McGuinness and Dunlop. THAT NEAR DEATH THING is a life-affir
Application of Impossible Things - My Near Death Experience in Iraq
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Natalie Sudman
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-02-09 - Publisher: Ozark Mountain Publishing

Natalie’s near death experience when her truck was hit with a roadside bomb in Iraq. She recalls the entire spirit side experience as they repair her body so
The Sacred Combe
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Simon Barnes
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-01-14 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

We've all got one. A secret, special place. Hidden. Enclosed. A little greener and more fertile than the world outside. Here the birds are slightly more exotic,
The Source of All Things
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Reinhard Friedl
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-24 - Publisher: St. Martin's Press

In the tradition of Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, Reinhard Friedl's The Source of All Things is a heart surgeon’s personal investigation of the human heart, mov
Unbreakable
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Richard Askwith
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-03-07 - Publisher: Random House

Discover a story that defies belief: National Velvet meets Downton Abbey with a splash of Giuseppe Tomasi Di Lampedusa's The Leopard. * WINNER OF THE 2020 TELEG
Deathing
Language: en
Pages: 424
Authors: Anya Foos-Graber
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989-01-15 - Publisher: Nicolas-Hays, Inc.

Everyone who is born is someday going to die. Some of us will die peacefully in our sleep, some will die in accidents, and some as the result of diseases, cance
How readest thou? ... Fourth edition, etc
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: John Charles Ryle
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1852 - Publisher:

Child of Her Dreams (Mills & Boon Vintage Superromance)
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Joan Kilby
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-27 - Publisher: HarperCollins UK

How can she love him? He doesn't take her seriously! Hainesville, Washington, might not be glamorous, but it's the place supermodel Geena Hanson wants to be aft
Biology Of Enlightenment
Language: en
Pages: 448
Authors: Mukunda Rao
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-07-21 - Publisher: Harper Collins

In this book we meet with the modern sage, U.G. Krishnamurti, and listen to his penetrating voice describing life and reality as it is. What is body and what is
School of the Dead
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Avi
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-21 - Publisher: HarperCollins

In this spine-tingling story from Newbery Medal winner Avi, a boy must solve the mystery of the ghost haunting him. For most of Tony Gilbert’s life, he has th